THE DEAD C  |  DR503 / The Sun Stabbed EP




  1. ---
  2. DR503 (Sides A&B, 33RPM):
  3. Max Harris
  4. Speed Kills
  5. The Wheel
  6. Three Years
  7. Mutterline
  8. Country
  9. I Love This
  10. Polio
  11. ---
  12. The Sun Stabbed EP (Sides C&D, 45RPM):
  13. Angel
  14. Crazy I Know
  15. Fire
  16. Bad Politics
  17. Sun Stabbed
  18. Three Years

This is the first in a series of DEAD C REISSUES being released collaboratively with Ba Da Bing Records.

With a catalogue spanning from the subversion of traditional song structure to stomping out and obliterating the very notion, New Zealand's The Dead C (Michael Morley, Bruce Russell and Robbie Yeats) have continually made the most crushing, expansive and intelligent rock noise ever to be heard. Just a glance at their peers who are fans (Yo La Tengo, Sonic Youth, Comets On Fire, Black Dice) shows the league in which they play.

The Dead C's DR503, released in 1987 (and not to be confused with the releases DR503b or DR503c, which are completely different recordings), sounded like nothing before it – a furious pastiche of unrelenting drones, noise and menace. It didn't fit in with the other bands New Zealand's venerable Flying Nun was releasing, and it immediately staked a fork in the road, dividing the "New Zealand Pop Sound" from it's black sheep brother, "New Zealand Noise." Today, the record still sounds as vicious and vital as when it first went to vinyl, except now perhaps there will be more people ready to appreciate the innovative approach the band took some 21 years ago.

This reissue also contains a bonus record of the rare Sun Stabbed EP from the same recording period. With bonus tracks not on the original seven inch, the recordings from the Sun Stabbed sessions are being released for the first time in their entirety.

(PLEASE NOTE: This Jagjaguwar/Ba Da Bing vinyl-only release, unlike other Jagjaguwar releases, is being distributed exclusively through Revolver Distribution and on the respective mail order sites of Jagjaguwar and Ba Da Bing.)

(JAG143 released: 11/04/08)

Texas Girls and Jesus Christ by Trevor Sensor
The Motorway by The Besnard Lakes
Golden Lion by The Besnard Lakes
Boys Life by Small Black
No One Wants It To Happen To You by Small Black
Back At Belle's by Small Black
Words by Sharon Van Etten
Druganaut by Black Mountain
Black Mountain (Demo) by Black Mountain
Surrender by Briana Marela

Mothers of the Sun by Black Mountain

Jesus Girls and Jesus Christ by Trevor Sensor

The Plain Moon by Besnard Lakes, The

Necessary Evil by Unknown Mortal Orchestra

Black Mountain
CD / 2xLP

Unknown Mortal Orchestra
Birmingham, AL - Saturn  w/ Lower Dens

See all upcoming shows

© 2016 Jagjaguwar. All rights reserved.