OKKERVIL RIVER  |  Sleep and Wake-Up Songs




  1. A Favor
  2. You're Untied Again
  3. And I Have Seen the World of Dreams
  4. Just Give Me Time
  5. No Hidden Track
  6. You're Untied Again [Solo Sketch]
  7. Knocking Myself Out [Home Recording]
Artist Website
Press Alcove

Sleep and Wake-Up Songs

Sleep and Wake-Up Songs is now being rereleased for Record Store Day, its first time pressed ever on vinyl, with two new, never released songs. The EP reveals Okkervil River in-between the monumental albums Down The River of Golden Dreams and Black Sheep Boy. Band leader Will Sheff looked back to this EP, remarking, "I can hear in it somebody who is actually getting comfortable with singing, with playing the guitar, with letting music happen naturally."

On the re-issue, Sheff, remarked, "In 2004 CDs were still the dominant playback format, but I always pictured Sleep and Wake-Up Songs as a vinyl EP, so I was excited when Jagjaguwar recommended giving it a proper vinyl release. I went through my old notes from the time and wrote up a little (actually not that little) account of the recording of the EP and my memories of that time in the band's history, and we went through the art and audio to make sure the whole piece transitioned well into vinyl. I also added a couple of tracks to round out side B. One is an early unfinished sketch of one of the songs ("You're Untied Again") and the other is an old blues cover ("Knocking Myself Out") I recorded somewhere on the road during that time."

Reflecting about the title, Sheff recalled "there's something about your mind that's especially flexible when it's in that weird half-asleep/half-awake phase ideas can glide in more gracefully. "Sleep and Wake-Up Songs is just a station on your way; it knows it's not your lover. It's a little shed, a lean-to constructed on the banks of some shaded stream between mountains. There is peace and quiet here. The late afternoon sun slants through logs set lazily on top of one another. There's a Les Paul resting against a fallen bough, but there are few loud noises, little reason to panic. The smell of cedars hangs in the air. There's a strange chill.

On Sleep and Wake-Up Songs, Okkervil River take advantage of a break between albums to present a small collection of more meditative songs that toss little boomerangs across the distance between what is and what could never be. They try on a loose-fitting felt suit of Tim Hardin-esque folk-pop, wade until soaked into a misty psychedelic duet, strap on an electric guitar for a lark, stack the overlapping refrains of Sheff and Minus Story's Jordan Geiger into a Phil-Spectoresque ecstacy of sexual confusion, and finally strip things down to naked and initiate a straightforward love song.

(JAG074 released: 11/02/04)

Multi-Love by Unknown Mortal Orchestra
Neverending Fountain (alt. version) by S. Carey
Bullet Proof.. I Wish I Was by S. Carey
Forgiven/Forgotten by Angel Olsen
May As Well (Bonus Track) by Angel Olsen
Continental Shelf by Viet Cong
Silhouettes by Viet Cong
How Can You Really by Foxygen
Cosmic Vibrations by Foxygen
Forever Dilating Eye by Sinoia Caves
Thousand Eyes by Lia Ices

Multi-Love by Unknown Mortal Orchestra

Neverending Fountain by S. Carey

Silhouettes by Viet Cong

Continental Shelf by Viet Cong

Boise, ID - Treefort Music Fest

Santiago de Compostela, ES - TriCiclo (Fundacion SGAE)

S. Carey
Fargo, ND - Fargo Theatre  w/ Mason Jennings

The Cave Singers
Eugene, OR - McDonald Theatre  w/ Yonder Mountain String Band

Viet Cong
Vancouver, BC - Biltmore Cabaret

See all upcoming shows

© 2015 Jagjaguwar. All rights reserved.